

THE BAND

MEMBERSHIP

A. E. MAYER, Director

Mr. Slagg
Dick Gifford
M. Tidd
Raymond Linscheid
Robert Knoblock
Mr. Milliren
Chester Long
George Studebaker

Hart Garness Alvin Manz Walter Garness Alden Losby Leo Johnson Arthur Rahn Robert Sine T. Clausen Henry Jasper
Ray Richards
Hugh Mair
Clarence Drake
Chester Newman
Marguerite Engelsby
Raymond Peterson
Julius Cooks

A FINE RECORD

We are all very proud to know that the Eau Claire Normal at last has a band. We owe our thanks for this to Mr. Alfred E. Mayer, who so kindly contributed his time and worked so patiently in teaching our musicians. Credit is also due Miss Eisenhart of the faculty, for her efforts to get a band started. She kindly agreed to lead the band if no other leader could be procured. She has also been faithful in ordering and arranging the music for the organization. Mr. Slagg, of the faculty, has also been a great help, by playing with the band.

The band's first appearance was on Friday, January 20th, when it was the means of making the "pep" meeting in Assembly, a great success. Since then, it has played at various meetings and has also appeared at all

of the basketball games.

The organization has developed very rapidly in membership and ability. At first there were only a few members, and the music they played was not at all difficult. However, the number of players has now reached twenty-four; and they play high-class band music.

Page Seventy-five